As part of activities to mark the legal year of the Supreme Court, 62 new legal practitioners across the country would on Monday November 28, 2022 be conferred with the SANships titles.

The Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee had in September announced the elevation of 62 lawyers to the rank of Senior Advocate of Nigeria.

Among the 62 successful candidates, 53 of them belong to the advocacy category while the other nine are of the academic category. The inauguration of new SANs usually takes place at the Supreme Court during the ceremony marking the commencement of the court’s new legal year.

The LPPC, chaired by the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Olukayode Ariwoola, released the full list of the new SAN-designates in a statement issued by the Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court and Secretary of the LPPC, Hajo Bello, after its 154th plenary session.

Among them are three lawyers engaged by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, although two of them – Sylvanus Tahir and Rotimi Oyedepo – are employees of the EFCC. The SAN rank is awarded as a mark of excellence to members of the legal profession who have distinguished themselves as advocates and academics.

Related content you may like