Senate confirms Tunji Olaopa as Chairman of Federal Civil Service Comission

The Senate has officially confirmed the appointment of Prof. Tunji Olaopa as the Chairman of the Federal Civil Service Commission (FCSC). This decision followed the adoption of the Senate Committee on Establishment and Public Service’s report during the Committee of the Whole session on Tuesday.

Additionally, the Senate confirmed the appointments of 11 other individuals as members of the FCSC, representing various states across the federation.

During the presentation of the report, Chairman Sen. Oluwole Cyril urged the Senate to consider President Bola Tinubu’s request for the confirmation of the nominee for the chairman’s appointment. Sen. Cyril cited Section 154 subsection 1 of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as the legal basis for this request.

The committee, in its scrutiny of the nominees, received comprehensive documents from the Office of the Senior Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly Matters (Senate). These documents included resumes, police clearance reports, and asset declaration documents, which were considered during the deliberations.

Sen. Cyril highlighted that the nominees exhibited commendable qualifications, professional experiences, and competencies required for these appointments. He emphasized the absence of adverse security reports or petitions against any of the nominees, affirming their suitability for the roles.

Following the deliberations, the Senate confirmed the appointments unanimously.

Among those confirmed as members of the FCSC were Dr. Dauda Jalo (representing Adamawa, Gombe, and Taraba), Mr. Ededet Eyoma (representing Akwa-Ibom and Cross River), Dr. Chambalin Nweke (representing Anambra, Ebonyi, and Enugu States), Mr. Rufus Godwin (representing Bayelsa, Delta, and Rivers), and Dr. Adamu Hussein (representing FCT and Niger).

The confirmation marks a significant step in the constitution of the Federal Civil Service Commission, ensuring a representation of diverse states within its members.