INEC directors retire, ask commission to tap from ex-workers’ expe

Retired directors of the Independent National Electoral Commission have called for the development of an institutional knowledge repository in the commission to preserve the wealth of knowledge and experience possessed by the retiring staff.

They made this call at a send-off ceremony organised in their honour by the commission.

According to a statement posted on the official X handle of INEC on Sunday, the retired directors said knowledge-holders should not be allowed to go without harnessing their experiences into the repository.

The retired directors who spoke through the immediate past Director of Planning and Monitoring Directorate, Chima Duruaku said, “The retired directors maintained that for an institution such as the INEC, preservation, and sharing of knowledge holders experience holds enormous potential and a great opportunity as the first line of recourse for information to drive policy and strategy of the commission.

“They therefore opined that knowledge-holders should not be allowed to go without harnessing their experiences into the repository.”

The statement further stated that Duruaku observed that the INEC is losing many of its knowledge-holders due to retirement from time to time.

“He maintained that the true knowledge-holders in election administration reside in the commission and those who have developed solutions to the problems associated with election administration over the years were homegrown.

“The director recommended that to build an institutional knowledge repository, a platform should be created for knowledge-holders to empty themselves where questions can be asked as to how and why they developed some ideas and initiatives at least six months before retirement,” the statement added.

The INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, represented by INEC National Commissioner, Prof. Sani Adams, congratulated the retired members of staff for the successful completion of their services to the commission and to the country.

Yakubu advised them to see their retirement period as another open opportunity for the future.

The retired directors are Blessing Obidiegwu, Gender and Inclusivity; Anthony Abarowei, Finance and Accounts; Micah Lakumna, Administration; Idris Aminu, Election and Party Monitoring and Olayiwola Oyeniyi, Finance and Accounts.

Others are Leonard Iortsor- Estate, Works and Transport; Ayodele Aluko – Voter Education and Publicity; Samson Lebari – Security and Oluwatoyin Babalola the current Director of Legal Services and Drafting who was recently appointed as a Resident Electoral Commissioner.