10th NASS: Yahaya Bello congratulates Akpabio, Abbas 


Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi State has congratulated Senator Godswill Akpabio on his resounding victory and election as the President of the Senate of the 10th National Assembly.

The governor commended the flawless and peaceful conduct of the election, which stands as a testament to the commendable workings of internal democracy within the National Assembly.

Governor Bello said he firmly believes that Senator Akpabio’s extensive experience as a former Governor of Akwa Ibom State and Minister of the Niger Delta will enable him to effectively lead the 10th Senate, fostering a harmonious relationship with the other arms of government for the greater good of the nation.

In a similar vein, Governor Bello extended his heartfelt congratulations to Rt. Hon. Tajudeen Abbas on his well-deserved election as the Speaker of the 10th House of Representatives.

The governor acknowledged and appreciated Rt. Hon. Abbas’ distinguished presence in the parliament, adding that it has equipped him with the necessary knowledge and understanding to fulfill his responsibilities while keeping the national interest at the forefront.

The Governor noted that he is rest assured that Senator Akpabio and Rt. Hon. Abbas, in their respective leadership positions, will work closely with their colleagues and other arms of government to ensure effective governance, drive meaningful legislative reforms, and contribute to the progress and development of the nation.

He also extended his congratulations to Senator Barau Jibrin and Rt. Hon. Benjamin Kalu as well, on their well-deserved election as Deputy President of the Senate and Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, respectively.

The governor expressed optimism that their tenures will be characterized by remarkable achievements, uncommon progress, and positive impact on the lives of Nigerians.

In the election, Distinguished Senator Godswill Akpabio secured an impressive 63 votes, defeating his closest rival, Senator Abdulaziz Yari, who garnered 46 votes.

Similarly, Rt. Hon. Tajudeen Abbas emerged victorious with an overwhelming 353 votes, surpassing his rivals, Rt. Hon. Idris Wase and Aminu Jaji, got 3 votes each.

Governor Bello wishes all elected officials success in their new positions and assures them of his unwavering support and cooperation in their efforts to enhance the welfare and prosperity of the country and its citizens.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.